Skip to content

Every Dog Has Its Day

January 8, 2021

I started this blog right when I enrolled in my PhD program. Of course, looking ahead to the work that was going to be required meant that I needed a hobby–something to distract me from the more important work at hand. The good thing about always looking for distraction is that it seems to be the one thing you can find easily. Nine years on (!), I’ve completed that degree, rounded up my bushel of kids to an even four, moved across the country, and acquired a board game here and there. Needless to say, I found a few other distractions than this blog.

You would have thought the coronavirus shutdowns would have been a good time to start back writing. Nope–too many other distractions. But, now that I’m even busier, I think it might be time. If you’ve followed me from nine years ago–welcome back. If you’re following me for the first time–welcome.

This year, I’ll be writing about a few major topics, I think:

  1. Book Reviews and Reading Tips. I’ll try to talk about everything I read on here, both as an accountability device for each of us and as a way of sharing some resources with you. Those resources might be titles you want to pick up or they might be some things I do to enhance my reading and keep on track with my goals.
  2. Movie and Film reviews. I’ll write about what I watch here, perhaps not everything, as a way of driving my third main idea….
  3. Narrative Issues in Biblical Studies and Preaching. I’m convinced that we can read the Bible better and understand it more than we often do. Using the tools you already understand from consuming modern TV and film, you can add so much value to your Scripture reading. Let’s look at a few things this year that exemplify this!

So, if you’re up for that, keep on reading! Thanks again for your prayers, support, and your kindness. Let’s make 2021 a year of reading, a year of pruning, and a year of building!

No comments yet

Share your thoughts: